Equality Act: The 10th protected characteristic

The Equality Act details nine protected characteristics with clear implications for schools found guilty of discrimination in any of these areas. Matt Bromley says that we need to add a 10th to this list…
Image: Adobe Stock

The Equality Act 2010 makes it unlawful for schools to discriminate against, harass or victimise a pupil or potential pupil in relation to admissions, in the way they provide education or access to any benefit, facility or service because of their:

These seven identifiers are called “protected characteristics”. There are nine in total, with “age” and “marriage and civil partnership” completing the list.

But I don’t think the law goes far enough. I think there should be a 10th protected characteristic: social class. It should be unlawful to discriminate against someone on the basis of their social class. This is especially important in schools – after all, class plays an important role in education and in later life.

Register now, read forever

Thank you for visiting SecEd and reading some of our content for professionals in secondary education. Register now for free to get unlimited access to all content.

What's included:

  • Unlimited access to news, best practice articles and podcast

  • New content and e-bulletins delivered straight to your inbox every Monday and Thursday


Already have an account? Sign in here